House sends Music Modernization Act for president’s signature

Sep 25, 2018
Press Release

WASHINGTON—Today the House of Representatives voted unanimously to send H.R. 1551, the Music Modernization Act, to the president’s desk for his signature. The Music Modernization Act passed the House in April by a vote of 415-0, and a modified version passed the Senate last week unanimously.

"Creators opened my eyes to the inequities in American copyright law during my first year in Washington. Since then, I have been listening to and working with creators across the nation to make our laws work in the 21st century for the entire music ecosystem. The Music Modernization Act began with a commitment to fairness and found champions in both houses and across the aisle, particularly Sens. Hatch and Alexander and my friend Rep. Hakeem Jeffries. It has been an honor to work alongside songwriters, publishers, digital streamers, broadcasters, artists and fellow lawmakers to make the music licensing landscape fairer and freer for everyone who’s ever loved a song," said Rep. Doug Collins (R-Ga.).

“We could not have accomplished this without Sens. Hatch, Alexander, Coons and Whitehouse, as well as Reps. Jeffries, Nadler, Issa, Crowley, Rooney and Chairman Goodlatte, and I thank them each for their perseverance and faith in our work together. Additionally, I’d like to thank the Nashville Songwriters Association International, the Songwriters of North America, the National Music Publishers Association, the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers, Broadcast Music, Inc., the Recording Industry Association of America, the Recording Academy, the Digital Media Association, the Internet Association, the National Association of Broadcasters and many more,” added Collins.

Collins introduced the original Music Modernization Act with Jeffries (D-N.Y.) in December 2017, while Sens. Orrin Hatch (R-Utah) and Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.) led a bipartisan group in introducing its companion this January. At final passage, H.R. 1551 included the original Music Modernization Act, the CLASSICS Act, introduced by Reps. Darrell Issa (R-Calif.) and Jerrold Nadler (D-N.Y.), and the AMP Act, introduced by Reps. Joseph Crowley (D-N.Y.) and Tom Rooney (R-Fla.).