Collins Praises Judiciary Passage of Music Modernization Act

Apr 11, 2018
Press Release

WASHINGTON—The House Judiciary Committee today favorably reported H.R. 5447, the Music Modernization Act, with a vote of 32-0 that paves the way for this legislation to receive a vote on the House floor. Rep. Doug Collins (R-Ga.) released the following statement in response.

“The current music licensing landscape undervalues music creators and underserves music consumers. Outdated copyright laws have produced unnecessary liabilities and inefficiencies within the licensing system, and stakeholders across the music industry have called for reform.

"I applaud Chairman Goodlatte for making copyright reform a priority of the Judiciary Committee. With lessons from numerous Judiciary hearings on music licensing and meetings with industry stakeholders, I introduced the Music Modernization Act to bring our music licensing laws into the 21st century, level the playing field for songwriters and increase efficiencies that encourage innovation. 

"I'm grateful to have partnered with my friend, Rep. Hakeem Jeffries, in pursuing meaningful improvements to outmoded policy, and for the opportunity to collaborate with Senators Hatch and Alexander. The CLASSICS Act, authored by Reps. Issa and Nadler, and the AMP Act, offered by Reps. Crowley and Rooney, have also strengthened this package and paved the way for a fairer system.  

"I’m proud to see the Judiciary Committee pass this legislation with overwhelming industry consensus and bipartisan support, and I hope to see the House vote soon to usher in the most significant music licensing updates of our generation.”  

H.R. 5447 includes the Music Modernization Act originally introduced by Reps. Doug Collins and Hakeem Jeffries (D-N.Y.), the CLASSICS Act, introduced by Reps. Darrell Issa (R-Calif.) and Jerrold Nadler (D-N.Y.), and the AMP Act, introduced by Reps. Joseph Crowley (D-N.Y.) and Tom Rooney (R-Fla.).

Support for the Music Modernization Act includes the following:

National Music Publishers Association (NMPA)

Digital Media Association (DiMA)

Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI)

Songwriters of North America (SONA)

American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers (ASCAP)

Broadcast Music, Inc. (BMI)

Songwriters Guild of America (SGA)

Association of Independent Music Publishers (AIMP)

Church Music Publishers Association (CMPA)

Music Publishers Association (MPA)

Society of Composers and Lyricists (SCL)

Global Music Rights (GMR)

Council of Music Creators (CMC)


SX Works

Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA)

PMA (Production Music)

Association of Gospel Music (AGM)

A2IM (Independent Labels)

Recording Academy 

American Federation of Musicians (AFM)


Rhythm & Blues Foundation

Living Legends Foundation

Music Managers Forum - US

Copyright Alliance

Internet Association

U.S. Chamber of Commerce Global Innovation Policy Center

Americans for Tax Reform

Council for Citizens Against Government Waste

Center for Individual Freedom

Free State Foundation

Taxpayers Protection Alliance

American Commitment

American Conservative Union

American Legislative Exchange Council

Consumer Action for a Strong Economy

Digital Liberty


Frontiers of Freedom

Institute for Policy Innovation

Less Government

Property Rights Alliance

Small Business and Entrepreneurship Council

National Taxpayers Union

Trade Alliance to Promote Prosperity